Religious Holidays Calendar

The Holy Days listed represent major holiday observations in several traditions. There are additional holidays in these traditions which are not listed.

**Jewish & Bahá’í holy days begin at sundown on the day before this date and end at sundown on the last.

*Islamic holy days are not fixed to a calendar but based on the actual sighting of the moon, causing some variance in the date.

December, 2020

Sunday, December 6

  • Saint Nicholas Day (Christian)

Tuesday, December 8

  • Bodhi Day
  • Immaculate Conception of Mary (Catholic Christian)

December 11-19

  • Hanukkah (Jewish)

Saturday, December 12

  • Feast Day – Our Lady of Guadalupe (Catholic Christian)

Monday, December 21

  • Solstice
  • Yule (Christian)
  • Yule (Litha* – Wicca/Pagan)

Thursday, December 24

  • Christmas Eve (Christian)

Friday, December 25

  • Christmas* (Christian)
  • Feast of the Nativity **(Orthodox Christian)

Saturday, December 26

  • Zarathosht Diso (Death of Prophet Zarathushtra) **(Zoroastrian)
  • St. Stephen’s Day (Christian)

January 2021

Friday, January 1

  • Mary, Mother of God (Catholic Christian)
  • Feast of St Basil (Orthodox Christian)
  • Shogatsu/Gantan-sai (Shinto)
  • Baptism of the Lord Jesus (Christian)

Tuesday, January 5

  • Guru Gobindh Singh Birthday (Sikh)

Wednesday, January 6

  • Epiphany (Christian)
  • Feast of the Epiphany (Orthodox Christian)

Thursday, January 7

  • Feast of the Nativity (Orthodox Christian)

Wednesday, January 13

  • Maghi (Sikh)

Tuesday, January 19

  • Timkat (Ethiopian Christian)

Thursday, January 29

  • Tu B’Shvat** (Jewish)

February 2021

Tuesday, February 2

  • Imbolc-Lughnassad** (Wicca/Neo Pagan)

Wednesday, February 3

  • Setsebun (Shinto)

Monday, February 8

  • Nirvana Day (Buddhism)

Friday, February 12

  • Chinese New Year (Chinese traditional)

Sunday, February 14

  • St. Valentine’s Day (Christian)
  • Transfiguration Sunday (Christian)

Monday, February 15

  • Nirvana Day (Buddhist-Jain)

Tuesday, February 16

  • Vasant Panchami (Hindu)
  • Shrove Tuesday (Christian)

Wednesday, February 17

  • Lent Begins (Orthodox Christian)

Friday, February 26

  • Purim** (Jewish)

March 2021

March 2-20

  • Nineteen Day Fast (Baha’i)

Friday, March 12

  • Maha Shivaratri (Hindu)

Wednesday, March 17

  • St. Patrick’s Day (Christian)

Thursday, March 18

  • Waqf al Arafa** (Islam)

Sunday, March 21

  • Norooz -New Year (Persian/Zoroastrian
  • Naw-Ruz- New Year** (Baha’i)
  • Ostara-Mabon** (Wicca/Neo Pagan
  • Orthodox Sunday (Orthodox Christian)

Thursday, March 25

  • Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Catholic Christian)
  • Mahavir Jayanti (Jain)

Friday, March 26

  • Khordad San-Birth of Prophet Zaranthushtra (Zoroastrian)

Sunday, March 28

  • Lailat al Bara’ah** (Islam)
  • Lord’s Evening Meal (Jehovah’s Witness Christian)
  • Magha Puja Day (Buddhist)
  • Palm Sunday (Christian)

March 28-April 8

  • Pesach** (Jewish)

Monday, March 29

  • Holi (Hindu)

April, 2021

Thursday, April 1

  • Maundy Thursday (Christian)

Friday, April 2

  • Good Friday (Christian)

Sunday, April 4

  • Easter Sunday** (Christian)

Thursday, April 8

  • Yom HaShoah** (Jewish)

Tuesday, April 13

  • Hindi New Year** (Hindu)

April 13th-21st

  • Ramayana** (Hindu)

Tuesday, April 13

  • Ramadan begins** (Hindu)

Wednesday, April 14

  • Baisakhi (Vaisakhhi) (Sikh)

Thursday, April 15

  • Yom Ha’Atzmaut** (Jewish)

Friday, April 16

  • First Day of Ridvan** (Baha’i)

Wednesday, April 21

  • Ramanavami** (Hindu)

Friday, April 23

  • St. George’s Day (Christian)

Saturday, April 24

  • Lazarus Saturday (Orthodox Christian)

Sunday, April 25

  • Palm Sunday (Orthodox Christian)

Tuesday, April 27

  • Hanuman Jayanti** (Hindu)
  • Mahavir Jayanti** (Jain)

Friday, April 30

  • Holy Friday (Orthodox Christian)
  • Lag B’Omer** (Jewish)

May, 2021

Saturday, May 1

  • Beltane – Samhain** (Wicca/Neo Pagai)

Sunday, May 2

  • Last day of Ridvan** (Baha’i)
  • Pascha (Easter) (Orthodox Bhristian)

Tuesday, May 4

  • National Day of Prayer-USA (Interfaith)

Saturday, May 8

  • Laylat al Kadr* (Islam)

May 14-16

  • Eid a lFitr – Ramadan ends* (Islam)

Tuesday, May 18

  • Tish’a B’av** (Jewish)

Sunday, May 23

  • Declaration of the Bab** (Baha’i)
  • Pentecost (Christian)

Saturday, May 29

Ascension of Baha’u’llah** (Baha’i

Sunday, May 30

  • Trinity Sunday (Christian)

June, 2021

Thursday, June 3

  • Corpus Christi (Catholic Christian)

Wednesday, June 9

  • St. Columba of Iona (Celtic Christian)

Friday, June 11

  • Sacred Heart of Jesus (Catholic Christian)

Tuesday, June 15

  • Saint Vladimir Day (Christian)

Wednesday, June 16

  • Guru Arjan martyrdom (Sikh)

Saturday, June 19

  • New Church Day (Swedenborgian Christian)

Sunday, June 20

  • Pentecost (Orthodox Christian)

Monday, June 21

  • World Humanist Day (Materialism)

Tuesday, June 22

  • First Nations Day (Canadian Native People)
  • Litha – Yule** (Wicca/Neo Pagan)

Thursday, June 24

  • Saint John the Baptist (Christian)

Tuesday, June 29

  • Feast Day of Saints Peter and Paul (Christian)

July, 2021

Friday, July 9

  • Martyrdom of the Bab ** (Baha’i)

Sunday, July 11

  • St. Benedict Day (Catholic Christian)

Tuesday, July 13

  • Obon -Ulambana** (Buddhist/Shinto)

Thursday, July 15

  • St. Vladimir the Great Day (Orthodox Christian)

July 20-23

  • Eid al Adha – Sacrifice Day** (Islam)

Friday, July 23

  • Emperor Haile Selassie birthday (Rastafaria)

Saturday, July 24

  • Pioneer Day (Mormon Christian)
  • Asalha Puja Day** (Buddhist)

Sunday, July 25

St. James the Great Day (Christian)

August, 2021

Sunday, August 1

  • Lammas (Christian)
  • Lughnassad – Imbolc* (Wicca/Neo Pagan)

Tuesday, August 3

  • Krishna Janmashtami**(Hindu)

Friday, August 6

  • Transfiguration of the Lord (Orthodox Christian)

Tuesday, August 10

  • Hijra-New Year begins* (Islam)

Sunday, August 15

  • Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary (Catholic Christian)

August 17, 18

Shavout** (Jewish)

Wednesday, August 18

  • Ashura* (Islam)

Sunday, August 22

  • Raksha Bandhan** (Hindu)

Sunday, August 29

  • Beheading of St. John the Baptist (Christian)

September, 2021

Wednesday, September 1

  • Religious year begins (Orthodox Christian)

September 6, 7

  • Rosh Hashanah* (Jewish)

September 8

  • Nativity of Virgin Mary (Christian)

Friday, September 10

  • Ganesh Chaturthi** (Hindu)

Saturday, September 11

  • Ethiopian New Year
  • Paryushana Parva (Jain)

Monday, September 13

  • Yom Kippur* (Jewish)

Tuesday, September 14

  • Elevation of the Life Giving Cross (Christian)

September 21-27

  • Sukkot* (Jewish)

Tuesday, September 21

  • Paryushana Parva (Jain)

Wednesday, September 22

  • Mabon-Imbolc (Wicca/Pagan)

Monday, September 27

  • Meskel (Ethiopian Eritrean Orthodox Christian)

Tuesday, September 28

  • Shemini Atzeret* (Jewish)

Wednesday, September 29

  • Michael and All Angels (Christian)
  • Simchat Torah* (Jewish)

October, 2021

Monday, October 4

  • St. Francis Day (Catholic Christian)
  • Blessing of the Animals (Christian)

October 7-14

  • Navaratri** (Hindu)

Friday, October 15

  • Dasara** (Hindu)

Monday, October 18

  • Mawlid an Nabi ** (Islam)

Wednesday, October 20

  • Birth of the B’ab** (Baha’i)
  • Installation of Scriptures as Guru Granth (Sikh)

Sunday, October 31

  • All Hallows Eve (Christian)
  • Reformation Day (Protestant Christian)
  • Samhain* (Wicca/Neo Pagan)
  • Deep Diwali (Jain)

November, 2021

Monday, November 1

  • All Saints Day (Christian)

Tuesday, November 2

  • All Souls Day (Catholic Christian)

Thursday, November 4

  • Diwali** (Hindu-Jain)

Friday, November 5

  • Vikram New Year** (Hindu)

Friday, November 12

  • Birth of Baha’u’llah** (Baha’i)

Saturday, November 13

  • Jain New Year (Jain)

Wednesday, November 24

  • Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahdur (Sikh)

Friday, November 26

  • Day of the Covenant** (Baha’i)
  • Feast of the Holy Family (Catholic Christian)

Sunday, November 28

  • First Sunday of Advent (Christian)
  • Ascension of ‘Abdu’l-Baha** (Baha’i)

November 29-December 6

  • Hanukkah* (Jewish)

Tuesday, November 30

  • St. Andrew’s Day (Christian)

December, 2021

Monday, December 6

  • Saint Nicholas Day (Christian)

Wednesday, December 8

  • Bodhi Day -Buddhism
  • Immaculate Conception of Mary (Catholic Christian)

Sunday, December 12

  • Feast Day – Our Lady of Guadalupe (Catholic Christian)

December 16-25

  • Posadas Navidenas (Hispanic Christian)

Tuesday, December 21

  • Yule (Christian)

Wednesday, December 22

  • Yule/Winter Solstice** (Wicca/Neo Pagan)

Saturday, December 25

  • Christmas (Christian)
  • Feast of the Nativity** (Orthodox Christian)

Monday, December 26

  • Zarathosht Diso (Zoroastrian)
  • St. Stephen’s Day (Christian)

Thursday, December 30

  • Holy Family (Catholic Christian)

Friday, December 31

  • Watch Night (Christian)